Skip to main content

Laboratory Operational Committee

Under the authority of the LSA, the Minister of Health established the Laboratory Operational Committee (LOC) in January 2016 to advise and guide the Ministry on operational issues related to the laboratory system in BC.

In support of this, the Agency administers and chairs this committee, which meets six times per year. The committee’s activities are governed by its Terms of Reference and all members are subject to the conflict of interest and non-disclosure policies.

In addition to two representatives from BC’s Agency for Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Chair and Vice-Chair) and one representative from the BC Ministry of Health, the LOC comprises seven to eleven voting members selected through and Expression of Interest process.

  • Five medical and clinical practitioners
  • Two representatives of publicly funded facilities
  • One representative of the general public

See the full list for more information about the current members.



Gail Crawford, Provincial Director, BC’s Agency for Pathology and Laboratory Medicine - Chair
Cheryl McCullough, Manager, Clinical Services, BC’s Agency for Pathology and Laboratory Medicine - Vice Chair


‎Representatives of the BC Government (Ministry of Health):

Ms. Mariana Diacu, Executive Director, Laboratory and Blood Services Branch

Clinical Scientist:

Dr. Kent Dooley, Chemistry Discipline Head & Clinical Chemist, LifeLabs

Laboratory Medicine Physicians:

Dr. Gordon Hoag, Medical Director, Department of Laboratory Medicine, Pathology & Medical Genetics, Vancouver Island Health Authority
Dr. John O’Connell, Staff Pathologist, Surrey Memorial Hospital

Medical Laboratory Technologist:

Ms. Darlene Mueller, Technical Practice Lead for Transfusion Medicine, Fraser Health Authority

Referring Practitioner:

Ms. Janice Brown, Nurse Practitioner, Vancouver Island Health Authority

Representatives of a Publicly-Funded Laboratory Facility:

Ms. Catriona Gano, Director, Laboratory Medicine, Vancouver Island Health Authority

Representative of the General Public

Mr. Jim Cawsey

Contact Us


Supporting Documents

SOURCE: Laboratory Operational Committee ( )
Page printed: . Unofficial document if printed. Please refer to SOURCE for latest information.

Copyright © Provincial Health Services Authority. All Rights Reserved.